7.14.2018

Gork, The Teenage Dragon by Gabe Hudson {Book Review}

Teenage dragons all over the place! #books #dragons
{Many thanks to the publisher for sending me an eARC of Gork, the Teenage Dragon free of charge. If you click through the affiliate links in this post, any purchase you make supports this site.}

PTH Rating:



Gork, the Teenage Dragon by Gabe Hudson seemed to hit a few of my "must read" categories. (1) It's set on a school campus - the WarWings Military Academy of Planet Conquering. (2) It involves dragons. (3) The blurb says its for fans of Harry Potter and The Hitchhikers's Guide to the Galaxy. That's all me.

Having read this novel, I can certainly see the comparison to The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, particularly the tone. Gork has the name whimsical and often nonsensical view of the world, with a dash of humor and satire thrown in. But HP? Nope. The only connecting thread there is the fact that the novel is set on a campus (in this case, a campus where being evil and terrible is a minimum requirement).

Unfortunately, my enjoyment of this novel was curtailed by numerous and repetitive info dumps, combined with tangents that resulted in a very slow moving plot. I can only assume the repetition was done on purpose as a writing device, but hearing the same information repeated using the same words and phrases grated on me.

So, while this book has a super cool 80's retro cover, it just wasn't for me.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts!